Cartwheel Confessions

“Only when you are aware of the uniqueness of everyone’s individual body will you begin to have a sense of your own self-worth.”

– Ma Jian


I’ve been sitting here for the past few days with a million ideas in my head, and drafts written down, unable to decide exactly where to start.


So, to allow you all to get to know me more, I have a confession.  I’m a fitness professional, and while I can physically do about anything I put my mind to, I cannot, and never have, mind you, been able to correctly complete a cartwheel.  Something about throwing my feet over my head with wild abandon makes my body balk.  Perhaps it’s the rapid pace that it all has to happen at, because those lovely slow-motion elbow handstands one might do in yoga I can handle just fine.  And though you may assume so, no I never had that willful physical abandon that might allow me to complete a cartwheel, even as a child.

Perhaps that’s the same reason I fail, and no longer even attempt, to dive into water — pools, lakes, you name it. (Trust me, that’s a fail your belly – and pride – does not want you to repeat more than necessary.)  I’m not going to lie, I’ve always felt a little sad and embarrassed that I’ve never achieved this girlhood right-of-passage.

Now that I’ve confessed I’ve also decided I’m determined.  Here’s my goal and commitment.  I’m going to learn to do a cartwheel. By the time I’m 30 darn it, I will have achieved this. (Notice how I gave myself a full four years there? Let’s be realistic, I’ve had 26 so far and it hasn’t happened. No need to get tooooo ambitious.)

Do you have any “typical” things you’ve never been able to do?  (And basically pretend that you can do or have done or don’t care when others refer to it?)  Curling your tongue?  (I can’t do that either by the way).  Swim?  Tread water?  Dribble a basketball?  Serve a volleyball?  Share them.  Hey, we’ve all got them.  Doesn’t make us inadequate, it keeps us from being ordinary.  Perfection is boring, people.  Let’s embrace the quirks.


Oh and here’s some old outfit selfies, just for fun, as I do love clothing of course.

IMG_0545FullSizeRender  IMG_9611 IMG_0548

Hugs and love,

Maggie Mae

<a href=”http://www.bloglovin.com/blog/13647421/?claim=6c9b7pk9sc7″>Follow my blog with Bloglovin</a>

Leave a Reply

